MCD by-elections: BJP loses to AAP, Congress

Aam Aadmi Party workers light firecrackers to celebrate the party’s performance in the municipal bypolls on Tuesday

AAP, making its debut in the civic bypolls is hoping to replicate its Assembly polls performance that will set ground for it in the 2017 MCD elections. BJP had vote share of 34.11 percent followed by AAP with 29.93 percent and Congress 24.87 percent.

CM took to Twitter and wrote: MCD ruled by BJP-Cong. The Congress also won in Jhilmil and Khichripur that come under the purview of the East Delhi Municipal Corporation.

The Congress and the AAP claimed anti-incumbency against the BJP.

AAP's Abhishek Bidhuri won the Tekhand seat by 1,555 votes, Anil Malik won the Nanakpura seat by 552 votes and Mohammadd Sadiq emerged victorious in Ballimaran ward number 86 won by 2,066 votes respectively.

As counting of votes cast in the civic by-polls on May 15 got over here on Tuesday, independent candidate Rajendra Singh Tanwar, who won from Bhati ward of South Delhi Municipal Corporation (South DMC), announced he was joining the Congress.

Congress in 2012 MCD polls had a share of 27.71 per cent for the 13 wards. "Ab MCD election mein sabhi seat jeetni hain (sic)", party chief Arvind Kejriwal tweeted.

BJP won at Shalimar Bagh North, Wazirpur and Nawada.

AAP workers offering sweets to each other after the party won five seats in the municipal bypolls on Tuesday
AAP workers offering sweets to each other after the party won five seats in the municipal bypolls on Tuesday

Matiala, which had polled the lowest just 33 per cent, was won by AAP candidate who edged out his BJP opponent by a slender margin of 753 votes. Out of these 13 seats, BJP held 7 seats, RLD one and the independents held the rest 5.

The Congress, which has won 4 seats in the by-election too has thanked people for their support.

The office which was in the most festive mood was of Delhi Congress's.

AAP's Somnath Bharti said that this was party's first MCD election, where the local issues played crucial role in influencing voters' minds. What adds to the existing problem is the fact that though Satish Upadhyay is the president of the Delhi BJP, he doesn't command much respect.

However, AAP is likely to get a strong competition from the Bharatiya Janta Party and Congress, both of whom have slammed the AAP for its misrule in Delhi.

A total of 95 candidates were in the fray in bypolls voting for which were polling were held on 694 stations.

Bypolls in these 13 MCD wards were needed as the seats were vacated by councillors in order to contest assembly elections.

Related News: